Beginning the Process

Today I finally get to begin the process of getting my room ready. I don’t have to report to work officially until next Tuesday. (Not tomorrow) My problem is that I work slow at these things and it takes me longer to get ready. That and I have a lot of technology to work with and put together. For some reason, when they clean my room, they don’t disconnect and reconnect the way I would.

So there are computers to connect, pieces of furniture to move, decorations to put up and an educational plan to design. I am starting this year with a great attitude. We have an amazing administrative staff to lead us. I have the opportunity to work with some great teachers. Our students have overcome obstacles to get to where they are and I have the opportunity to teach them about themselves and how to change their limits. I always remind kids near the end of the year: “If I had told you at the beginning of the year that you would be able to do this, would you have believed me?” as a reminder to them how much they have accomplished.

room before putting together

All the room furniture pushed to one side so that custodians could finish waxing. They did great – now it’s my job.

One of the greatest things about being a teacher is that every year is a new year with new challenges and opportunities. This will be my 22nd year as a first year teacher. I still have so much to learn about my group. I still have so much room to grow. I am grateful to fellow teachers and my students who never cease to amaze and teach me.

Leave a Reply

