Saturday….

Saturday….a day off from school. That is so exciting because that means I get to work from home! I am working on lesson plans. I am working on the website. I know, I should have been set up last week, but I wasn’t. Of course, since I am the tech leader at my campus I should be setting a good example and I didn’t. So now, it’s catch up time. I will be making phone calls.

The truth is that I don’t really mind doing all these things. I have students I need to reach. I want to make sure that kids know that I believe in them. I joked with them yesterday that while they were stuck going to the beach or playing video games or spending time with friends, I had the chance to grade Engineering Notebooks and I was going to be selfish and not let them do it with me. Most of them had a good laugh at that.

I have such a great group of kids or so it seems so far. If they are this good, then I am compelled to make sure they have the teacher they deserve and I need to work even harder to make the lessons engaging. How can we get through the tedious parts of the work in a way that captures the attention of the kids so that we can get on to the fun projects? How can we move QUICKLY through the parts that are necessary, but that neither the kids nor I really enjoy? That’s part of the process all teachers have to deal with. When the kids are as good as the ones I have, I don’t want to “go through the motions” and put the year on automatic. So Saturday is, for me, a day of work. I’m willing to bet that a lot of other teachers are working like that too.

Leave a Reply

