Reversal

A couple of weeks ago I posted about my teacher’s pain. Sadly, he is not in my class anymore. That being said I have others who have come into my heart like him: kids who have all kinds of possibilities to do great things but they’ve given up on themselves. So today, I have to admit that I was tired and worn when I left school trying to find some way to break through that. I had to rush home and pick up my daughter to go to a Christian concert called “Spiritfest.”

I was not in a good mood for that. I’m working on my NaNoWriMo project, or trying to. I was tired. I tried to remedy the tired by making a cup of coffee. We picked up dinner to eat in the car on the way to the concert. Because of that, my coffee had no place to sit safely…so it jumped on my leg and down by my feet. I think we parked around a mile and half away from the site and had to walk in. When I got there, my wife, who was interpreting, wanted food so I stood in a line so long that I almost went back to stand in line after I delivered the food just in case my wife or my daughter wanted something else – that way I would be ready.

But, Tenth Avenue North was playing. I like just about everything they do. Except there’s one song that I had never liked. I got back to my wife with the food just in time for Mike to talk about his journey through tough times and how God redeemed him and those times. Then, they played that song that I had never liked….until then. I think that I had never heard the song when I was just plain worn out. I had never heard the background. As I heard the song I thought of my other teacher’s pain candidates. Then these lyrics just broke through:

Let me see redemption win
Let me know the struggle ends
That You can mend a heart that’s frail and torn
I wanna know a song can rise
From the ashes of a broken life
And all that’s dead inside can be reborn
‘Cause I’m worn

My feelings about the song reversed. The power of the words touched my heart and gave me strength as I prayed for my pains. I began to realize that if I have to be careful about picking up broken glass so that I don’t cut myself, I need to handle broken kids carefully too. If they cut me, they hurt themselves even more. I may be tired, but I have hope. I may have been down, but I have always had hope. Sometimes the only hope my kids have is the hope that I have for them. I pray that one day they might know and sing “Worn” as one of their lifesongs in years to come.

And just so you can hear the song….

One thought on “Reversal

  1. Pingback: The Agony and The Ecstasy | Eduwow

Leave a Reply

