Good Day – Educationally

As bad as Thursday started for me (and continued) Friday started great. I was excited. Things just fell into place the right way on all the little things. I did get a note about a student being in in-school suspension, but someone was already in there. I didn’t think much of it since the only extra work was printing an extra copy of the assignment. Then, the lady who sent the email walked into the room right at the end of class. I figured she needed to tell me something about the new child in ISS. She looked at me and said, “I need to watch your class. You’re needed in the office.”

Normally, that would be bad news. I was excited. I told the kids what they needed to do to finish and I began walking outside. Yes, it was cold, but I didn’t feel it. The reason why I was excited was that I had pretty well decided that Friday was the day that the Corpus Christi Education Foundation  would be delivering news about grants we had written back in September. I was hoping that a grant I wrote with another teacher, well, she did most of that work, would be funded. I thought it was a good grant. I had also written two other grants, but had doubts about them. As I walked down the hall, I saw the other teacher and I smiled. Then, I turned the corner and saw two other groups of teachers and nearly started crying. If my calculations were correct, and they were, all three grants that I was involved with had been accepted and funded. Here’s the picture of the three checks. A quick funny on that was that one of the CCEF people said that I must be good at writing grants and I should keep on doing it. I replied, “that’s why I’m here.” I don’t think she realized that I was speaking of another grant, another source and the grant that forced me to change schools.

The Cunningham Cougars Grant recipients along with our fantastic principal and members of CCEF

The Cunningham Cougars Grant recipients along with our fantastic principal and members of CCEF

When I went back to my room, I surprised the kids. In the privacy of my room, along with those who had been watching and my students, I let out a giant whoop and a holler! Many of them hadn’t seen me smile all year – behavior issues. They seemed to be excited too…and were pretty good the rest of the class. A couple other good things happened throughout the day as well.

Then, at the end of the day, got some news that sucker-punched me. I won’t go into details here. Horrendous, tragic news involving a friend  I’m reminded again of the frailty of life. And then we had what should be a minor issue confronting my wife. This should be taken care of quickly, but it’s an annoyance nevertheless.

 

Leave a Reply

