Committees…..

So a few weeks ago, I got an email telling me that I was on some committee for the district. As I read it, I didn’t see how I fit into the group or the purposes – although, to be honest, I couldn’t really tell what the purpose was. So I emailed back and asked how I fit in. I got no response. So, I asked my principal if she had suggested me for this committee. She didn’t know anything about it. With no responses and fear of getting an email telling me that I had really caused problems by not showing up…I showed up.

Seems that they weren’t really expecting me since I had written to ask how I fit in. I had taken their silence as “shut up and show up” and they had taken my response as “I ain’t showin’ up!” They let me “play” with them anyway. It was the Performance Based Monitoring Analysis System. If you don’t understand that, I can sympathize. It’s educationalese for “some things ain’t working and we gotta find ways to fix ’em.” And I only know that because I went to the meeting. They did quickly make me a table card for my name. After a few minutes of being there and looking around I suddenly realized that I was not a big fish in a little pond: I was a little fish in a small pond. Half of the people, or more, had their doctorates. Feeling out of place and intimidated I did what comes naturally to me: I shrugged my shoulders and participated.

We were looking at data that measured the performance of students on last year’s state test. I like that kind of disaggregation of data. We were then to take that data and discuss ideas for how to develop a plan to find ways to address those needs. Overall, it was a good time. I met some people that I had worked with over the phone or email. I met some new friends and saw some old friends and I think we did some good work. I still missed my kids, though.

(This was yesterday…thought I had posted it and found out I hadn’t. I hate it when I do that!)

Leave a Reply

